Black Bean Soup

My wife has made Black Bean Soup before this; I had been anticipating it since she put it on the meal calendar at the beginning of the week. My wife makes good Black Bean Soup.

Then my wife surprised me when she told me she didn’t have a recipe and she was just making it up as she went along. So I decided to document the procedure.

This recipe for Black Bean Soup has two Keys: one for making it Tasty, and one for making it Easy.

Back at the beginning of the year, H-E-B had a deal that involved fajita-seasoned meat. My wife and I bought the meat, had a delicious cookout with family, then threw the leftover meat in the freezer. We have been eating it little by little since then. The Key to making this recipe Tasty is the pre-seasoned, pre-grilled fajita meat.

For our wedding, a good friend of ours gave us an immersion blender. I don’t think we registered for it, and I’m not sure my wife had ever used one before. I know I hadn’t. It turned out to be just about the best gift anyone gave us. The Key to making this recipe Easy is having an immersion blender.

Black Bean Soup

“I’m making this up as I go,” said my wife.

Ingredients

  • 1 Tbs olive oil
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 C diced red bell pepper
  • 1/2 C diced onion
  • 2 (15 oz) cans black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 tsp beef bullion powder
  • 1/2 lb fajita-seasoned steak, cooked
  • 1 tsp Creole seasoning (optional)

Directions

Heat the oil in a large pot over medium-high heat. Add garlic, red bell pepper, and onion. Sauté for about two minutes. Add both cans of black beans, and one can-ful of water. Add the beef bullion powder. Stir, bring to a boil and cook, covered, for five minutes.

While the soup is cooking, chop up the fajita steak into little bits.

Take soup off the heat. Scoop out 1 to 1-1/2 cups of the soup into a small bowl and set aside. Using an immersion blender, blend up the soup in the pot. If you don’t have an immersion blender, use a normal blender and blend the soup in batches. When the soup is all blended, add back the reserved part and throw in the steak.

Put soup back over medium heat. If desired, add Creole seasoning to taste. Cook until heated through, about 5 minutes.

Serves 4.

Incidentally, this soup is delicious when served with cornbread.

One thought on “Black Bean Soup

Leave a Reply

